Imbalance

Some week or two ago, I woke up with strange pimples on my face… pimples I am not used to seeing. For the next few days, I found myself bed-bound, bothered by the fact that my skin, that already looks like a teenager’s skin, was showing no signs of clearing.

 

That was how I wanted to cope with it: resorting to my bed with endless whys buzzing in my head. I might even cried at some point too. Isn’t that how people would normally react, I wonder?

 

Now I don’t know if my next move was motivated by my own determination or by the book “Positive Imaging” that I was reading, but I decided that worrying and questioning this adversity is doing me no good. I told myself this: “Okay, so this is your new challenge. What’s your game plan? What do you plan to do to get it solved?”

 

I researched, and whether or not the Google results were valid to my case, I tried to follow. There was a high chance that my sugar intake was unmonitored given that our house was flooding with post-baby-delivery chocolate trays and post-engagement halwas. (I appreciate our traditions, but RIP diet!)

 

I switched from sugar to honey, and I decided to pay more attention to what my body is telling me. After all, I’ve been having imbalanced eating habits from eating normally when my weight is good to overeating when my weight goes down.

 

The horror-inducing pimples were gone. It was that simple. The rise of this problem came only to tell me two things:

  1. To be mindful of what I put into my body
  2. To thank God for what I already have and seek God for better.

 

I could’ve easily continued to wallow in sadness and confusion, but all that would’ve come from this coping mechanism was a problem elongated. It would’ve only dragged my problem beyond its intended time.

 

Perhaps a simple story in facing adversities (though I omitted the scarier parts of this issue), we need to learn to quickly grab our pens and notepads, write a list, and attack. Worrying doesn’t help; a change of perspective does.

 

And perhaps it’s abnormal to face a difficulty and choose to see what it’s trying to teach you because a normal person is bound to say: Why me? Why this? Why now? But give it a whirl.

 

Next time you undergo trouble of any sort, try to tell yourself: Okay, so where do we go from here? What’s my plan of attack?

Leave a comment